Serious thrash metal with  bark & bite!

Vargbyte is the youngest and hottest new metal band in Chicago!  Since 2017, the band has been melting faces with it's thrash/death metal.  "Northbound", the group's new EP, features Oscar Carlson (guitar/vocals), Brendan Bahan (drums), Nick Mastrapa (vocals), and Bennett Blake (bass).


2/15 Reggie's Music Joint, Chicago


Come out to our kick ass NORTHBOUND EP RELEASE PARTY when Vargbyte opens for Exist with Replacire, Monotheist and Warforged at Reggie's Music Joint in Chicago on Saturday, February 15, 2020 at 7 PM.


1/9 The Wire, Berwyn, IL


Vargbyte opens for Angels of Duality and whips up the mosh pit.  All Hail Vargbyte!



Headliner @ The Forge!


Vargbyte hit the stage with its new lineup headlining Ignite the Underground at The Forge in Joliet, IL. Thanks to everyone who came out and watched us close the wild show.


Happy Halloween!


Look what just arrived in time for Halloween - the new CD for "Northbound"!  The EP was mixed by Chicago-based metal producer Sanford Parker and sounds kick-ass!

Make sure to pick up a CD at one

of our live shows or on CD BabyAlso available on  iTunes and Apple Music.


New Music Video!  >>>>>>>>


Vargbyte works late into the night on their new music video for "Trephining!"   Chicago Industrial Arts & Design Center's metal working and forging facilities were the perfect backdrop for the thrash metal mayhem.  Needless to say, the smoke machine was in overdrive!


The multi-camera video was shot and Directed by D.P. Carlson from Film Foetus, Inc. along with Justin Baron from Redworks.  Big shout-out to  Bruno Carlson, Jessica Feith and Matthew Runfola for their help on the shoot!


Bottom Lounge, Chicago!


Vargbyte hits the stage in Chicago and previews the songs from the soon to be released Northbound EP!

For the first time ever on "Expunge", Vocalist Nick Mastrapa plays the air raid siren to kick off the tune!  Nobody ran for the exit!


Good Wolf Music


Final over dubs are done on Northbound EP with engineer Jeff Breakey.  The track listing on the record will be:


01 "Surreality"

02 "Trephining"

03 "Permafrost"

04 "Expunge"


You can listen to our newly mastered EP on our YouTube Playlist LINK HERE! 


Northbound Artwork by Jeff Zornow!


We are proud to show you the final artwork for our new "Northbound" EP!   The cover was drawn, inked & colored by internationally known artist Jeff Zornow!  Holy Sh*t!  We got #‎ZORNOWMUSTBEDESTROYED‬ to do our cover!


Jeff's work has been featured in scores of comics, t-shirts and graphic novels for DW Publishing. Image Comics, American Gothic Comics, Fright-Rags among others!  Check out more of Jeff Zornow's mind-twisting work HERE!

Additionally, the VARGBYTE logo was created by Christopher Horst, one of the great heavy metal logo artists out there!  You can follow Chris on Instagram HERE!

Thanks for your killer work, boys!


  • Spotify Social Icon
  • iTunes Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

© 2020 by Vargbyte